Led Zeppelin Blesses Record Store Day with Release

Led Zeppelin announced on Twitter it will release a limited-edition 7″ yellow vinyl single. The vinyl will feature previously unreleased mixes of “Rock and Roll” and “Friends” in light of Record Store Day on April 21, 2018.

According to a press release, this mixture of “Rock and Roll” stems from the “Sunset Sound Mixes” made for Led Zeppelin IV, of which only two tracks have been heard before: the original version of “When the Levee Breaks” and “Stairway to Heaven,” which appeared as a special mix on the 2014 Deluxe Edition of Led Zeppelin IV. The “Olympic Sound Mix” of “Friends” removes the orchestration, “offering a true fly-on-the-wall feel from the band’s recording sessions for Led Zeppelin III at Headley Grange,” according to the release. Jimmy Page produced both recordings.

David Bowie Live Album and Rare EP Being Released for Record Store Day

The late David Bowie’s website announced this week that two collections of rare or unreleased music, a 74′ concert and an EP from 71′ will be released on Record Store Day (April 22nd).

The live album, Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles ’74), was recorded at the Universal Amphitheatre during his Diamond Dogs Tour. The show came after Bowie fired the Spiders From Mars and replaced them with studio musicians.

Bowpromo contains alternate mixes of seven songs recorded during the sessions for Hunky Dory, five of which wound up on the album. It was a split EP, containing five tracks by Dana Gillespie, who was also signed to the Gem Group, a company formed by Bowie’s manager Tony Defries. On this, the first commercial release, Gillespie’s songs have been removed and the package adds five Bowie prints and new liner notes.

David Bowie, ‘Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles ’74)’ Tracklisting

Side 1
“Rebel Rebel”
“Moonage Daydream”
“Sweet Thing / Candidate / Sweet Thing”

Side 2
“Suffragette City”
“Aladdin Sane”
“All the Young Dudes”
“Cracked Actor”

Side 3
“Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me”
“Knock on Wood”
“It’s Gonna Be Me”
“Space Oddity”

Side 4
“Diamond Dogs”
“Big Brother”

Side 5
“The Jean Genie”
“Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide”
“John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)”

Side 6
David Bowie logo etching

David Bowie, ‘Bowpromo’ Track Listing

“Oh! You Pretty Things”
“Eight Line Poem”
“It Ain’t Easy”
“Queen Bitch”
“Bombers / Andy Warhol Intro”


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.