Iowa High School Girls Athletic Union Announces All-State & All-District Teams

It was a great fall sports season, and that includes a very competitive year in volleyball. With that, the Iowa High School Girls Athletic Union has announced the All-State and All-District teams for all five classes.

For the All-State Second Team in Class 4A, Pella freshman Emily Holterhaus was named to the squad. She is the only freshman to be honored in Class 4A. She led the way as Pella qualified for the state tournament in Cedar Rapids this season. She was joined by senior teammate McKenna Bogaard, who was on the Honorable Mention list.

In Class 3A, Centerville’s Alyssa Barger was listed on the 3rd Team. The senior was the top player for a Centerville squad that pushed top ranked West Liberty to four sets in the Region 8 Final in Donnellson.

In Class 2A, Karlie Taylor of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont was honored on the 1st Team. The senior had an outstanding career, helping lead the Rockets to the state tournament in Cedar Rapids each of her last three years on the team. She will continue her volleyball career in college at the University of Northern Iowa. Also in the mix was Pella Christian’s Andrea Horstman, who was named to the 3rd Team. PC was a solid team in the Little Hawkeye Conference, but was eliminated from the regional tournament against Taylor and EBF in the quarterfinal round in Region 4. Pekin’s Beth Atwood was named to the Honorable Mention list after leading the Panthers to the Region 4 semifinals, where again, EBF ended their season.

On the All-District side of things, there were again several athletes that were honored in each class in our area.

In Class 4A, Pella’s Emily Holterhaus and McKenna Bogaard were both named to the Southeast District team, along with Fairfield’s Shelby Heston, who helped Fairfield get to the Regional Final against the Lady Dutch in Class 4A before falling.

In Class 3A, the Southeast District included Centerville’s Alyssa Barger. She was joined by teammate Amory Glosser, who had a great junior season for the Redettes. Davis County’s Mallory Wells was named to the team after an outstanding senior campaign, and Mid-Prairie’s freshman sensation Jaedynn Evans was the only underclassman named to the squad.

In Class 2A, the Pella Christian’s Andrea Horstman landed in the Central District, while EBF’s Karlie Taylor, Taylor Leffler, and Haegen Boyer were all named to the Southeast District team. Pekin’s Beth Atwood was also named to this team, as well as Cardinal senior Dakota Durflinger. EBF Head Coach Gladys Genskow was named Southeast District Coach of the Year in Class 2A.

Finally, in Class 1A, Lynnville-Sully’s Brenna Lanser was named to the South Central Team. In the Southeast District Sigourney senior Sierra Davis was honored, as well as Moravia senior Kendall Brown.

The All-State and All-District Teams were announced by the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union on Wednesday.

The season ended two weeks ago with Ankeny Centennial winning the Class 5A Championship, West Delaware getting the title in Class 4A, Nevada winning the crown in Class 3A, Western Christian taking home the trophy in Class 2A, and Janesville coming out on top in Class 1A.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.