McDonald IV Named to 2022 Bednarik Trophy Watch List

Iowa Hawkeyes senior linebacker Jack Campbell and senior defensive back Riley Moss, as well as Iowa State Cyclones senior defensive end Will McDonald IV, were all named to the 2022 Chuck Bednarik Trophy Watch List.

The Chuck Bednarik Trophy is presented annually by the Maxwell Football Club to the most outstanding defensive player in college football. Campbell and Moss of Iowa and McDonald IV of Iowa State have all received plenty of preseason honors so far, with all 3 being named to the Nagurski Award watch list as well as multiple preseason all-american teams.

Campbell was second in the Big Ten with 143 tackles last season, the fifth-most ever in a single season for Iowa. Moss ranks 2nd in Iowa program history with 239 career interception return yards and is one of three players in program history with 3 interceptions returned for touchdowns.

McDonald IV enters his senior year already holding the Iowa State career record for sacks with 29.0, and also has 9 forced fumbles and 34.5 tackles for loss in his career.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.