Tuesday primary election

Three Iowa House incumbents from the No Coast Network listening area were defeated in Tuesday’s (6/7) primary elections.  In the new House District 88, Helena Hayes defeated incumbent Dustin Hite in the Republican primary.  Hayes received 1961 votes to 1453 for Hite.  Hayes will now face Democrat Lisa Ossian in the November election.  And in the new House District 37, Jon Thorup of Knoxville, who was District 28 Representative, lost to Barb Kniff McCulla in the Republican primary—with Kniff McCulla winning by a two to one margin.  Kniff McCulla will face Democrat Mike Overman in November.  In a contested race for House District 25 in Wapello County, Hans Wilz won the Republican primary over Corwin Williams.  Wilz faces Diana Swartz in November.  And in a battle of two incumbents, Representative Dean Fisher from the old District 72, defeated David Maxwell from District 76 in the Republican primary for the new House District 53 seat: 1420 votes to 856.  Fisher faces Sarah Smith in the November election.

There were also County Supervisor seats on Tuesday’s ballot.  In Mahaska County, incumbent supervisors Steve Wanders and Chuck Webb won in the Republican primary.  And since no one ran in the Democratic primary, there could be a write-in candidate who advances to the November election to challenge Wanders and Webb.  Over in Keokuk County, incumbent supervisors Michael Hadley and Daryl Wood advanced in the Republican primary. With no Democrats running in the primary, Hadley and Wood will most likely return to the Keokuk County Board.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.