Area football players earn All-State honors

Several football players from the No Coast Network listening area have earned All-State honors, courtesy of the Iowa Print Sportswriters Association.  Three Montezuma Braves are on the All-State 8 man team: quarterback Eddie Burgess and receiver Trey Shearer on the first team, with receiver Cole Watts on the second team.

Five Sigourney-Keota Cobras are on the 1A All-State team, with running back Sam Sieren, offensive lineman Zach Smithart and defensive back Brady Duwa on the first team, defensive back Wyatt Sieren on the second team and offensive lineman Brayden Moffit on the third team.  Two Pella Christian Eagles received 1A second team honors: defensive lineman Luke Mulder and linebacker Cody Boender.  And Pekin offensive lineman Cael Lyle also earned second team All-State.

Six PCM players are on the 2A All-State team.  Offensive lineman Greyson Strum and defensive back Justin Maggard on the first team; linebacker Andrew Mitchell and punter Brayden Berger on the second team; and running back Aidan Anderson and offensive lineman Caleb Duinink on the third team.

In Class 3A, Grinnell running back Wyatt Hunter and offensive lineman Dodge Sauser are on the All-State first team; second team All-State honors go to Grinnell offensive lineman Matayas Durr and linebacker Eli Rose, along with Pella defensive lineman Kody Huisman.  And Oskaloosa defensive back Cooper Spry is on the 3A All-State third team along with Pella punter Ryan Mace.

And Ottumwa punter Jesus Jaime is on the Class 4A All-State third team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.