Indians football postseason awards

The Oskaloosa High football team handed out awards Friday (11/15) at its annual postseason banquet.  Senior Tyler Miller received the Benz Trophy as most valuable player, the Brent Blanchard Outstanding Offensive Back award and the Down-Up Award for perseverance.  Sullivan Tighe received the Kenneth Heinle Academic Excellence and David Roepke Commitment to Excellence awards.  Cody Gunn received the Outstanding Perimeter Defender and Outstanding Special Teams Impact Player awards.  Kenny Settimi received the Outstanding Interior Defensive Player and Outstanding Strength and Conditioning awards.  Colton Butler was named Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Aaron Blom was named Outstanding Special Teams Skill Player and Nikki Parlet was chosen Outstanding Support Staff.

Eight Indians were named to the All-District first team: defensive tackle Kenny Settimi, Aaron Blom as a kicker and linebacker, Tyler Miller as a running back and kick returner, linebacker Cody Gunn, offensive tackle Colton Butler, center Noah Ide, defensive end Noah Van Veldhuizen and defensive back Mason Ford.  Honorable mention All-District honors went to defensive back Iszac Schultz, defensive end Walker Newman, safety Reed Brown, guard Kale Bollinger, quarterback Will Schultz and receiver and defensive back Wyatt Krier.

And six Oskaloosa players and three managers earned Academic All-District honors: players Aaron Blom, Reed Brown, Wyatt Krier, Kenny Settimi, Sullivan Tighe and Noah Van Veldhuizen and managers Kiara Bjornson, Nikki Parlet and Lily Stream.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Stay updated, sign up for our newsletter.